2019 World Para Nordic Skiing Championships

By Sponsored Content
November 28, 2018 - 11:00am Updated: February 6, 2019 - 11:38am

The World Para Nordic Skiing Championships are held every two years after the Paralympic Winter Games and represent the pinnacle of achievement for Para Nordic athletes. These athletes, men and women, who are grouped into three classes for competition (sitting, standing, and visually impaired) will compete in four cross country skiing and four biathlon medal events over a period of 10 days. They truly embody the best of Paralympic sport and the Paralympic movement and will guarantee to astonish and excite the community about the possibilities of Paralympic sport.

Prince George will host approximately 140 athletes from over 20 different Nations, over 200 coaches and officials, and expects thousands of visitors to attend over the duration of the World Championships. Following less than 12 months after the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games in PyeongChang Korea, the 2019 World Para Nordic Skiing Championships will be an exciting follow-up for the 114 contested world championship medals and represents an exciting opportunity for the IPC to continue growing the sport around the world.

The Prince George 2019 World Para Nordic Skiing Championships will provide an unprecedented and very exciting opportunity for Paralympic athletes to compete at the highest level, as well as enhance diversity and inclusion in the development of para athletes. In addition to the experience for the athletes, the legacy left from the Championships will come in so many tangible and intangible ways. Follow this link for more details on how this great event will benefit Prince George and surrounding area.

Teams begin arriving to Prince George on February 1st, the schedule for all team arrivals is as follows:

  • Korea - February 1st
  • Ukraine - February 7th & 8th
  • Georgia - February 9th
  • Canada - February 11th
  • Finland - February 12th
  • France - February 12th
  • USA - February 12th
  • Japan - February 12th
  • Japan - February 13th
  • Brazil - February 13th
  • Mongolia - February 13th
  • Belarus - February 14th

The Canadian athletes participating are as follows:

  • Mark Arendz (PEI)
  • Collin Cameron (ON)
  • Emily Young (BC)
  • Brittany Hudak (SK)
  • Natalie Wilkie (BC)
  • Derek Zaplotinsky (AB)
  • Brian McKeever (AB)
  • Graham Nishikawa (YK)
  • Jesse Bachinsky (ON)
  • Kyle Barber (ON)
  • Ethan Hess (BC)
  • Simon Lamarche (QC)
  • Yves Bourque (QC)

For more details visit 2019worldparanordic.ca



CFL Legend Set to Speak at 15th Annual Bob Ewert Memorial Dinner

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.