Lheidli T'enneh elect new chief

By Greg Fry
April 11, 2019 - 7:10am Updated: April 11, 2019 - 6:23pm

PRINCE GEORGE — The Lheidli T'enneh have elected a new chief, former councillor Clayton Pountney.

Pountney picked up 99 votes, while his lone challenger and long-time incumbent Dominic Frederick, received 84 votes. Frederick had been chief since 2004.

Pountney will serve a two-year term and says in the coming weeks, council will be discussing Lheidli T'enneh's future as a community and as a nation.

"A lot of communication has kind of gotten stifled even between chief and council," Pountney says, "I think we have to work closer together for transparency and communication between ourselves and membership."

Dolleen Logan, Helen Buzas, Clarence John and Joshua Seymour were elected as councillors while Elissa Gagnon, Melody Buzas and Phyllis Seymour were elected to the Lands Authority.


A tale of two Northwest B.C. residents

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.