New School Board Sworn In

By Cheryl Jahn
November 7, 2018 - 5:00am Updated: November 7, 2018 - 5:45pm

PRINCE GEORGE - A very formal ceremony, including strong First Nations elements, took place in the Boardroom of the School District 57, swearing in seven trustees. The Board of Education will take a different look moving forward as the District was placed under a ward system for the first time. Five Trustees Tim Bennett, Ron Polillo, Trent Derrick, Sharel Warrington and Betty Bekkering, will represent Electoral Area 1 (Prince George), while Shuirose Valimohamed is the Trustee from Electoral Area 2 (Mackenzie) and Bob Thompson is the Trustee from Electoral Area 3 (Robson Valley).

Following the ceremonies and blessings, the new Board elected Tim Bennett as the Chair of the Board.

"Thank you all for putting your faith in me to be your Chair for the next four years," Bennett told the gallery after taking the head seat at the table.

Following that, Sharel Warrington was elected Vice-Chair, Ron Polillo was elected to be the representative for the BC School Trustees' Association while Betty Bekkering was elected to be the representative of the BC Public School Employers' Association.  


Air Quality Advisory For Burns Lake

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.